Poets logo

I'd Fall (revised)

Your green eyes pull me asunder

By A. KesonPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

An entrance followed by a gust of air,

causes a glance to discover black hair,

dark as midnight with no moon’s light to guide the way,

it’s hard for me to pull my eyes away,

fall down below to gaze in wonder

your green eyes pull me asunder.

The greenest of Spring your eyes do sing,

And I foresee a future with you and me.

Quick as a flash, I see you and I,

Under the sun’s glow with fire in our eyes

We’re laying on a blanket and it’s just you and me-

all around us as far as the eye can see.

Surrounding us are blooming flowers in a field of green

Like an ocean of serenity, I’m at peace with you beside me.

I imagine the sound of your voice and its deep and low

Quick to laugh and even faster to joke.

It’s then that I remember we haven’t even spoke.

I feel my soul pull away from the field at which it wishes it could stay

and into your gaze it bathes.

I’ve been staring the entire time!

My cheeks flush red like wine and I know you must see,

like a beacon in the night- guiding your way toward me.

I look away, startled and shy

but not before your smile blinds my eyes.

A person so perfect how can this be

Could it be that you were made for me?

Like a ship setting sail you make your way over,

At first slow and then your momentum grows

As wind fills your sails and I swear that it’s hard to breath

You must be stealing the wind from me

to power your sails because as I watch

You weave through the night’s crowd seamlessly

With a smile upon your lips

And it’s those lips that I want my last kiss.

The thought is random but true

I find myself content with the idea of you.

But for now, I’m nervous and shy- so, so many butterflies!

They threaten to fly,

Fly me away before you meet your destination

I force them down and plead to stay

To wait for you to come my way.

As you get closer you tower over

Like a Great Oak still standing after the wind tries to topple it over.

You smell like rain after a storm

And I find the smell pleasing despite that I prefer to be where I am dry and warm.

As you stand before me, I realize an impending doom:

Is this lust or could it be true?

As I look into your eyes, I decide

That I'll never know if I don't give it a try.

Introductions are made and once again my thoughts begin to stray,

Wandering through all the possibilities that you could make.

I wonder what your touch could do,

would your skin set me afire like a raging wildfire?

Could you cool it by quenching its insatiable thirst?

I think back to my vision of you and I-

I know it’s true, I was meant to find you.

Now slower thoughts as I listen to you talk,

With the same voice that I already knew,

low and deep like thunder booming over rolling hills,

But still in my heart I hold dear

The vision of you and I and a single thought is clear:

‘Could you hold me here, in your arms,

I'd fall

and never wonder if I should have fought at all.’

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

A. Keson

Thank you for visiting my page! My goal is to write articles and short stories that are interesting and hopefully educational. I work full time but writing has always been a hobby that I am passionate about. I hope everyone enjoys my work!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.