Poets logo

I Carry the Burden of Dreams

A Love Poem

By Muhammad Nasrullah KhanPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
I Carry the Burden of Dreams
Photo by Damir Yakupov on Unsplash

I wish I could lead you back to the weaving tracks,

we carved in our youth

the white mare we rode together,

I cupped hands and heaved you up

picked the mushrooms,

and above all, the dreams we shared.

Listen: those dreams are heavier now,

I can't carry them by myself.

I wonder if you’d remember, the way I do,

The dreams you helped create.

Remember that one dream?

The one kissing in the moonlight?

Last night, the moon and I wept for that.

Our dreams have become so old,

and don’t let me sleep

my heart cramps when I weep for our dreams.

I touch them alive again!

You told me you would hear my cries at night.

Would you now listen to the creak of my bones

as they protest every bend?

People say I’m old-

the mirror sees not wrinkles on my face,

caused by the weight of long, aged dreams

that drag me to my knees.

Do they not still call to you?

They seek you in dark alleys.

Come back and take your dreams,

I can’t carry them alone.

slam poetry

About the Creator

Muhammad Nasrullah Khan

Muhammad Nasrullah Khan is a Pakistani-Canadian writer. His short stories are well-recognized internationally , His work has appeared in Adbusters, Evergreen review, Indiana Voice Journal, Newtopia Magazine, and many others.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Vicki Lawana Trusselli about a month ago

    This is a beautiful prose story. I related to every word

Muhammad Nasrullah KhanWritten by Muhammad Nasrullah Khan

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.