Poets logo

I cannot live without the cheers

A villanelle about my home in the world of Theatre

By Catherine BurfordPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

My home is the world of Theatre

Where divas sing and dancers twirl.

I cannot live without the cheers.

When the curtains rise, I appear

To charm every boy and girl.

I truly love it when they cheer.

When I’m rejected, I’m in tears

And feel that I’m going to hurl.

I cannot live without the cheers.

I play well my part loud and clear

And display my costume and curls.

I truly love it when they cheer.

This home of mine is my career.

There's no Plan B. Only this world.

I cannot live without the cheers.

Moliere, Ibsen, and Shakespeare.

Bernadette, Audra, and Carol.

I’ll join their ranks in a few years.

I cannot live without the cheers.

art
1

About the Creator

Catherine Burford

I'm just your everyday Autistic Artist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.