Poets logo

I Can’t See The Stars

A regretful poem by EMG 3/7/23

By Emily DickersonPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
I Can’t See The Stars
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

Men get angry. Women get sad. It's about control.

We've fought before, this won't be the end of the world.

Help me respect, help me understand. Give me the grace to rise when I fall.

Help me learn from mistakes that I choose to make, give me heart to respond to the Call.

It's harder to forgive myself than others; my brain lies to me all the time.

How am I supposed to be strong when life and love unwind?

How can I feel so lonely with you inside my heart?

What does it really take to tear two souls apart?

Where does the road go on rainy nights in March,

When the bed, the rock, is frozen, and I can't see the stars?

Where does forgiveness come into play for broken souls at home,

When loveless bickering wanders from mouths that ought not too far roam?

Where do the questions find their peace? In a piece of mind not mine.

So say your prayers and go to bed, things always turn out fine.

Turn back the clocks, go take a walk, you'll breathe again in time.

Go back to church to heal the hurt, get drunk on Holy Wine.

If you disagree, that'll be strike three, and redemption is hard to find.

heartbreaksad poetry
1

About the Creator

Emily Dickerson

Hopeful and young, full of love. From my heart high praises are sung. For this reason I am here: to love and serve and bring all souls near. <3

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)about a year ago

    ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.