Poets logo

I Can Only Write Happy Things Inspired by Her

Inspired again by AJ, a friend for life

By Emily DickersonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
I Can Only Write Happy Things Inspired by Her
Photo by Tyler Nix on Unsplash

You have such a pure smile

A sweet heart

Quiet lights

In the dark

Inspire me to

Reach for the sky

I will never let friendship die

You know that I need you

To get through

The dark days

I’d hate to

See your lovely smile

Fade away…

So I’ll have to make you stay

Don’t you see that you are

The reason

I fight through

The seasons

I live to

Just hold you again

I’m not gonna lose my best friend

It’s tragic that oceans

Separate

You and I

Through long days

Just know when

Those days

Come to end

That you will still be my best friend.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Emily Dickerson

Hopeful and young, full of love. From my heart high praises are sung. For this reason I am here: to love and serve and bring all souls near. <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.