Poets logo

I Came To See You

A sad poem

By Lily WinterPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
I Came To See You
Photo by Matthew Smith on Unsplash

I think if you kissed me

I surely then would die

A broken-hearted bird

That spreads its wings and flys

Life seems meaningless

Why should I even try?

Ashes to Ashes, dust to dust

my tears form mud as I cry

I came

I came to see you

and instead

you never came

I didn't come for your fame

or fortune

No ill gotten

gain

I came to steal a hug

the way some steal a kiss

not because it was forbidden

But because I can't handle this

What is this?

This

This is my life.

I am sad

Some days start sad

Some days end sad

Sometimes in between

But still

I'm sad

I came to see you

Because I need you

Because even if I hurt you

I love you

In a way I can't

love myself

I came to see you

Because outside

I smile

But inside

I cannot stand

I try to walk and I tremble

because life holds me down

I came to see you

Because without you, I hurt myself

And I told you

and then

you were sad

And that killed me

I came to see you

Because I was afraid

that without you to hold me together

I would lose myself

and never be the same again

I came to see you

Because I wanted a hug

I wanted you to hold me

like you'd never see me again

I wanted you to hold me

like if you let go

I would shatter into a million pieces

and fall

like sand in an hourglass

But you didn't come

You saw me

And you stayed away

Was it because you remembered?

Did you remember that I was hurting?

Do you see me differently now?

I deserve it

And I came

And I waited

And I waited

And I waited

But you never came.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Lily Winter

Hello! I am an eighteen year old university student, and avid writer. To learn more about me, check out my instagram-

Personal: @lily_winter4722

Business: @lily_winter_writes

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.