Poets logo

I Called It Love

"The feelings after the parade"

By Michael James DimarcoPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

I thought you were different. More than a conversation and not just a manipulation.

You were working on something new. While I was focused on something true. I won't stay around, while you play around. Wasting my time on loving you.

I was numb before but now I feel. Yesterday I found what is real. I can tell you're keeping something from me. You’re just my light, on the dark side of what is right.

Help me to be strong. Where do I belong? This isn’t about you not being my support. Or you finding someone new.

This is about you looking happy. Because you found someone true. This is what I called love. Even after the parade. The colour is gone, the logo has changed. The questions remains, where do I belong?

At the risk of sounding so cliche, I just got to call a spade a spade. From the start something wasn't right. I cried myself to sleep at night. Told myself stand up be strong. This kind of phase doesn't last for long.

Not until the new year begins and we repeat the same message. The one where a rainbow changes, the pride of our current profit.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Michael James Dimarco

I have been writing for several years now. In that time, I've managed to help inspire those within the Film & Entertainment world. I have always been inspired by everyday emotions. Everything around me is a story, including my own life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Sir Trailene2 years ago

    Pretty nice writing!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.