Poets logo

I Burn

A Poem

By C.S. MeigsPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
3
I Burn
Photo by Gleb Lukomets on Unsplash

I’m burning.

The scorching seethes against my skin. So long now since my heart was ember… What is to cool this sear, when all that surrounds is catalyst?

The Words: They catch

The Actions: They combust

The Voice: It melts me away

Here then does my core smolder, raising its heat to a molten flame. To contain this flame is arduous; an ordeal that tears against my mind and shreds to the soul. Yet it holds.

When the crescendo does peak, suddenly comes the cascade to drown all fire. It smothers even the smoke in its wake, crashing against all which I am and leaves me as quickly as it arrived.

Yet hope is an oil; the flame, however drenched, ignites once more.

Truth is its driver.

Try as I might to contain... the inferno dances. What am I to do?

I burn.

heartbreak
3

About the Creator

C.S. Meigs

A lifelong storyteller and general weirdo, C.S. Meigs journies about the strange lands of his mind to chronicle the mishaps therein for his dear readers... Someone send help.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.