Poets logo

I Became

Poetry is home for my heart

By Leah LegaultPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
I Became
Photo by Hanna Zhyhar on Unsplash

Because I felt worthless, I became worthy.

Because I felt trapped, I became free.

Because I felt heart broken, I became open hearted.

Because I had anxiety, I became brave.

Because I experienced loss, I became abundant.

Because I had so many hard experiences, I became empathetic.

Because I didn’t understand, I became curious.

Because I have lived without, I became grateful.

Because I was desperate, I became resourceful.

Because I felt powerless, I wrote poetry.

And I found my home there.

I found a home for all hearts there.

Poetry speaks my heart’s language.

It speaks about our collective heart.

It gives others a home in my heart.

Because I hurt so badly, I became poetry.

Because I wrote, I became my myself.

I’m at home in myself now.

I can breathe.

I don’t have to hold my breath anymore.

In this body

On this Earth

When I’m one with poetry

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Leah Legault

Prefer to speak in poetry/I speak for women, moms, single moms, children, and anyone who feels like it's so hard to be here at times//Developmental Service Worker/ For inclusion/Love brains that works in different ways/Women's Healing Arts

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.