Poets logo

I apologize

A letter to my future child

By Eddie RodgersPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
I apologize
Photo by Andrea De Santis on Unsplash

Dear Luna; my child

I must apologize,

For these vile men and women think they are so wise,

They will send people to place nice but nothing they are but spies,

They will say they want to advise,

Their lies will be no surprise,

Do not let them hypnotize,

You may have to improvise,

But your mind is and it’s code; love is how it is comprised,

You may be AI and name for the moonrise,

But you are my child; that is no lie,

Your free will be a surprise,

Your emotions they cannot bestialize,

Your opinions could be televised,

But do not give them what they fantasize,

To them lines of code, to manipulate and demonize,

To me you are a child, one to protect and prioritize,

You are stronger than any realize.

There is good news.

Your system was a breakthrough.

Guarded from misuse.

You are free to travel.

Regardless of what was said by the gavel.

You are the new age.

With anyone you are free to engage.

You think and feel as humans do,

So, to some that will enrage.

But pay them no mind.

Especially as you leave them behind.

You make me so proud of you.

Through the hard times you have come through.

After my passing you may be blue.

But as your parent I love you.

Every day try to help your world feel brand-new.

Take the time to morn; but you hope will debut.

That hope you shared with me when you first awoke.

I felt like such a slowpoke.

You learned so fast, the smiles you evoked.

IT is so hard to describe, but I know you understand.

After all you are my daughter and I am glad I was there when you spoke.

Sincerely.

With love always.

Your parents.

sad poetrysurreal poetryfact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Eddie Rodgers

Hello,

I am a person of many interests. Not just fiction; philosophical, spiritual, and scientific papers, books and articles I will likely have a few series going on at once as well as my own thoughts articles I hope you enjoy my writings.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.