Poets logo

I am...

A poem about the colours I am made of.

By Deborah RobinsonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
10
I am...
Photo by Anna Kolosyuk on Unsplash

In this poem, I try to convey the colours I am 'made of'. Life has battered me a bit, it's true, but I am made unique by the people around me, who love me, by the things I care about, and by my perceptions. We are all wonderfully different. This poem uses colour to tell you about who I am.

I hope you enjoy.

I am...

I am light pink.

A delicate colour, with a blush

Of fragile peonies and soft candles,

Easily destroyed

By the cruel winds of words

And thoughtless actions.

I am purple.

A deep, passionate hue

Of blueberry stained lips,

New tubes of paint,

Tart blackcurrant sweets,

And streaks across sunset skies.

I am green.

Ever changing under light:

Pure sunlight gives me fizzing energy,

Overcast days send me down

Into low feelings

And self-doubt.

I am silver.

A solid ring of loyalty, forged.

Made by words of love,

Acts of bravery, selflessness

And time to care.

Precious. Forever. Total.

I am orange.

The colour of laughter,

Of mischief, accomplishment and smiles.

A streak of fire

In a dark sky.

I am enough.

I am these colours.

I am whole,

But I can be easily made muddy

By careless words and inexperienced brushstrokes.

I need clear light,

Kind hands and light touches.

Deborah Robinson.

inspirational
10

About the Creator

Deborah Robinson

I'm new to the 'writing for real' scene. Previously, I've kept my poetry and writing under wraps in a fancy notebook, but now I've decided to give it a proper go!

I hope you enjoy my work.

Thanks, Deborah.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.