Poets logo

I Am Unique

And as Permanent as a Sand Mandela

By Ricky ChopraPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1
Snad Mandela

We’re all unique, products of infinitesimal odds, incredible coincidental events beyond the comprehension of Gods.

I am unique because my ancestry is worlds apart. My parents looked past their skin tone to commonalities of the heart.

I am unique because please and thank you were the only words of English my Dad knew, but as luck would have it, my Mom thought his good manners were worth a secret rendezvous.

I am unique because I wore a deep brown fur coat fashioned from offcuts off the factory floor when all the boys in the schoolyard wore polyester blue Parker’s their worrying mothers' adore.

I am unique because I imagined cereal boxes were blue police cars, and rockets filled with green liquid flew me to colonies on Mars.

I am unique because I witnessed my dad calmly use humour to deal with pink-faced friction at a time when race wars were being fought on the high streets of Brixton.

I am unique because my heroes refused to lose. They inspired me to soldier on when I could have so easily misused.

I am unique because my dyslexia was so misunderstood. But I came to believe everything is as it should be as I joined adulthood.

I am unique because I admit my failures are mine alone. However, I need to keep reminding myself not to blame others and make more of an effort to condone.

I am unique because I no longer fear the arrow of time. I have come to accept entropy will drop the plush red curtain on this amusing pantomime.

I am unique because I will return to the void where dreams are made, but my beliefs don’t require me to persuade.

I am unique because I feel we are the universe, not individuals separated from the one when we enter the hearse.

For so many reasons, we are all so unique. But it is worth remembering we are all related to a woman from Mozambique.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Ricky Chopra

Science fiction author. My new book is called "Call Me Izanagi". Musician and producer (Search for Ricky Chopra, Spectrum City and DJ Chops in Spotify) Plus DJ and designer of http://www.spectrumcity.co.uk

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.