Poets logo

I Am the Silence

a reflection of an individual in the whole

By Persephone StyletPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
I Am the Silence
Photo by Serrah Galos on Unsplash

I spend too much time locked inside my mind.

After hours spent in self-reflection,

One would think that I would be bound to find

Who I am and know it to perfection.

Yet I lay awake asking what life means.

Still I have, through years of introspection,

Failed to get to the bottom of things

And lost years to hours of self-dissection.

I have seen myself in too-short tempers,

In these subtextual accusations,

In their wounded and suffering whimpers,

And some less-than-polite implications.

I hate to see the face in the mirror

For who she has turned into in terror.

I escape myself whenever I search -

Barely a glance before it goes away

In the rearview mirror of my own hearse

Before forgetting who I am today.

An idea stays behind, this is true;

As does smoke drifting through open fingers.

A trace remains when next the sky is blue,

Though ‘twas never truly there, it lingers.

It would be easier to catch shadows.

This never-ending search for the unknown,

It leads me toward my handmade gallows

For daring to see my mind overthrown.

I could never find myself when I’d look.

Who’d think distraction would be what it took?

The quiet come-down after a party

Marked by heavy limbs and a lighter soul,

Laughter that feels it’ll never leave me,

Bone-deep exhaustion that makes me feel whole.

The waiting time before an appointment

Be it for a doctor, friend, or lover -

Still and silent, finding some contentment

Existing before the moment’s over.

Though it is a phrase so very worn,

Perhaps it’s worn because it resonates.

I find I am the calm before the storm,

The moment before the bomb detonates.

I am the thunder, I am the lightning,

A deadly force of will barely contained.

I am more than all of this suffering,

More than the laughter and the good days.

I am more than all your discovering,

More than the potential of my sun’s rays.

I am what you find in the in-between.

I am paradox, the never-again.

I am the almost, the what-could-have-been.

I am what begins when your small world ends.

I am my pride and your humility.

I am my own, at the end of your rope,

Your strength and your vulnerability.

I am your downfall and your greatest hope.

I am the success that comes at a price.

More than all of this, I am the silence.

I am what is left when you choose to leave.

I am after and before words that sting.

I have always been and will always be.

I am both everything and nothing.

I am an individual, the whole.

I am who you love and that which you hate.

I am lies, am hated, am heart, am soul,

Am a severed head on a golden plate.

I am the breath you take when all is lost.

I am the waiting, and I am defeat.

I am victory no matter the cost.

I am lying dead, rotting at your feet.

I find myself to be ever-changing

In a world that would soon see me hanging.

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Persephone Stylet

any pronouns

Just a small-town girl livin' in a lonely world. Also a writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.