Poets logo

I Am the Pox of Vox — Worship Me!

The Guttural Utteral — Fear Me!

By Gerard DiLeoPublished about a month ago Updated about a month ago 2 min read
2
Catchy words.

I am the pox of vox

Approx'in' outside the box

I find the gutteral utteral,

And rhyme the countercultural

.

I'm the jokalization of vocalization

That imprimaturs texted contextual damnation

I state the stately worldly words of absurd

Suiting me with slurs, for- and backwardly, blurred

.

I cull the stampede of the call of words unheard

Cherrypicking for mo'better words from the herd

And breed the inbred more-lettered verbs

From scatalogical four-letter words preferred

.

A phraser-taser phrasing the phrases

That cuff you and then stings you with mazes of lasers

And roughly spoken from the verbal assaulters

Who fall back on last word-haver defaulters

.

I am the chyme of rhyme

Prosaic in trochaic time

Driving my riders in the hearse of verse

Carrying carrion that can't get wordly much worse

.

A meter defeater and lipreader repeater

A spondee respondee and X-platform re-Tweeter

And reader unseater and midlife wife-beater

Who writes about life's dead words from grim reapers

.

I am impiety of notoriety

And the satiety of impropriety

Doling out wrongs with umlauts and diphthongs

Even in dipwrong überglyphic insobræ'ty

.

The ass of assonance

With abundance of comeuppance

Rolling ripples of illiterate alliterations

Better 'literated as literate respited reiterations

.

I am sentence dependence

Sans sentient repentance

I am the maelstrom of poem

With much more than then-some

.

Poetic injustice

Hacking mopheme pertussis

In the gutter of suckling utters

At the vulgarian's struggling udders

.

I wax manic in ambit iambic

For I am what I am it

A depression of expression

Inviting recession

.

I climb the vile pile of bibliophile style

As a man who descends where no man's an isle

I teach learned-not burned-out lessons of wit

In spurt-out churned-out sessions retrofit

.

Thrumming sonorous malodorous

Drumming free verse visibly vice-versus

I am the frack of frickin' fricatives

Trolled with bowls visibly expletive

.

When simply said is said and done, done

I singly cannot be outdone

Skimming off the top

I'm the final glottal stop

.

And the wordsmith pullies I blacksmith herewith

Are laced with cookies you should reject forthwith

surreal poetryperformance poetry
2

About the Creator

Gerard DiLeo

Retired, not tired. In Life Phase II: Living and writing from a decommissioned Catholic church in Hull, MA. Phase I: was New Orleans (and everything that entails).

https://www.amazon.com/Gerard-DiLeo/e/B00JE6LL2W/

email: [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • C. Rommial Butlerabout a month ago

    This might be satire? I love these pieces where you go all out with the wordplay! In Hermann Hesse's "Siddhartha" the title character has a conversation with the Buddha where the Buddha, out of respect, warns him to "Beware of being too clever"... and man, does it get us in trouble? Sure it does, sometimes, but like Siddhartha tells the Buddha (and I am paraphrasing here): your way is awesome, but it's not the only way. Speaking personally, I have found the clever take on life first exceedingly alienating, but then beautifying, then redeeming and revivifying. Maybe I enjoyed this too much! But thank you! You have made my day in turn!

  • Paul Stewartabout a month ago

    This is magnificent.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.