Poets logo

I am the Moon

A poem by Keila Aartila

By KJ AartilaPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
11
I am the Moon
Photo by Silas van Overeem on Unsplash

I am the Moon

Look at me glow, shining light reflected.

A light not mine, but beautiful in it’s brilliance,

regardless the season,

or tide.

***

Like a cloud, I carry dreams

amid the constellations aligned.

Riding upon gravity’s pull

to keep my face in existence.

***

The sky is mine in the dark,

amongst the wishes

and illusions

of firelight.

***

Just above the horizon,

or the tops of trees,

I see all that you see shadowed

in the twilight.

***

I eclipse the brightness

for my own sometimes,

so I don’t get swallowed up

in the darkness

***

surrounded by the stars.

Thank you for reading!

surreal poetrynature poetry
11

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    I'm so sorry I missed this one! What beautiful imagery and language. Just lovely :)

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Spectacular!!! Loved it!!!

  • Lori Meltonabout a year ago

    Love your imagery and expressiveness! Beautiful!

  • Holly Pheniabout a year ago

    Very pretty!

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    Love this ❤️

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Gorgeous piece. Well done.

  • Gosh, this was so beautiful!

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    Beautiful❤️ Loved this ❤️

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Absolutely beautiful, Keila!! 😍

  • Excellent lunar words

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.