Poets logo

I am the dream

I am the dream

By Alysia SandersPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Diversity

I am the American Dream

I am the eclectic perspective

I am all that it seems

I am the diversity manifested

From Africa to Japan

To banned Modoc Indian land

I am this rainbow of experience

An active embracer of "non-sense"

An illustration of joy, wild, and untamed

And frustrations unchecked

And a history disdained

My grandma's raised whole neighborhoods

And we saw the best out of the worst

But nobody on their blocks would ever know hunger nor thirst

My skin reflects in the sun's gold

Carmel with that red untone, glistening

My voice screams for justice and civil rights

Whether or not anyone's listening

From my nappy roots

Entwined with amber waves of grain

To my hazel or gray eyes

Influenced by injustices and pain

From my niños and niñas

To my elderiest of kin

Every REAL American

Needs an awesome gay or bi best friend

I am the dream

In every scene

Regardless of the plot

The rainbow makes us successful

Some seem to have forgot..

Alysia Sanders

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Alysia Sanders

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.