Poets logo

I am…

treading in the divine.

By Veronica Published about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
3
by Veronica Glasson

Nature leans inwards beneath the pull of a hundred intricate lines of silken wonder, capturing water droplets in the morning dew. Scintillating the lush green surrounding, the spider's lavish residence exists beneath the chilly Southern Georgian sun, rising into another day of intricate beauty. This is a spider's world, dazzling and magnetic, I am in awe of it's effortless design.

I am a penthouse

Numb yet chic

Playing by the rules

Of power over the meek

Sturdy yet alone

Lonely by design

Grey walls

Grey eyes

Never taken by surprise

I am a mansion

Cold hearted

And white

Not a single staircase

Nor a lasting delight

Drifting through hollow hallways

With emptied rooms

Reminding me endlessly

Of the foreshadowing doom

I am a speedboat

Hitting waves too big

Seeking thrills

Chasing tills

With yeti’s and pills

Hosting parties

With “thoties”

Who forgot their worth

Making waves with the neighbors

As I tread on with sweet mirth

I am a pension

Long overdue

Chasing down dreams

That couldn’t pursue

Playing with hours

In towers

Too high

Drifting away

Deterrent of the oncoming

Goodbye

I am a lighthouse

Sturdy and proud

Shining light

On the lonely

Sticking out in the crowd

Shimmering and stable

I own the night

Helping others

As they struggle

With darkness in sight

I am a leaf

Colorfully cast

Changing through seasons

Making peace

With my past

Opening up to the sun

There’s no time to run

I fall silently

Drifting just for fun

I am winter

Threatening all life

Hoping that seeds

Learn to survive the ice

I pillage the town

Burying all who come in my way

With my stillness

And fulfillment

With might and decay

I am envy

Enraged with green

Uncomfortable and moody

I dwell in the mean

Heavy and handy

Suspicious with rage

I uncover all truths

Digging graves with my age

I am an ember

Clinging to the bark

That was tossed into

A local pit at a park

Fickle and fond

Of the breath that blows

Sheltering me

Begging me

to start my show.

I am divine

Absent of time

Always looking

For a rhythm or rhyme

Humming melodies

Blending harmonies

When there’s something

I can’t find

Remembering my origin

By the beating in my heart

I raise my hands above

Because I know my loving

And never ending start

And how unconditionally

I play my part.

nature poetryexcerptsart
3

About the Creator

Veronica

I am the moss silken on watered stones, rooted deep in rich soil. Earthen creature, I am the night sky -starry and strayed from the forgotten path of poets - I am, the chatter from the iron rails rattling as the train carries itself home.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Testabout a year ago

    Great work! Well chosen words.

  • Denise E Lindquistabout a year ago

    Wow!! Powerful poetry! Thank you.💕😊

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.