Poets logo

I AM!

I am my self, no other.

By N. Harold DonleyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
The Day is Given.

I stand in the first golden light

as the Sun breaks over the horizon

The day is born.

The day is given.

Creation is affirmed.

Above me the darkness folds back.

The pale-white Moon fades into the pinkish blue of the

brightening mornng light as night gives way.

It is in that moment, I understand…

I am my self,

No other.

For I know no other to be.

I have never existed before.

I will never exist again.

Yet, in my uniqueness, I am still part of a greater whole, a greater self.

I quake with trembling optimism at the dawn of a new day.

I AM!

inspirational
2

About the Creator

N. Harold Donley

N. Harold Donley is a free lance writer based in Norman, OK. Author of OUTWORLD, a novella set in a climate altered future, N. Harold has also written a number of short stories. He is currently working on a sequel to OUTWORLD.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.