Poets logo

I Am My Own Slave

Indebted to Myself

By Thavien YliasterPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
4
Image by Colleen from Pixabay | https://pixabay.com/vectors/chain-slavery-oppression-jail-5596267/ | https://pixabay.com/users/stargladevintage-17411787/

Tirelessly I work, slaving away.

Yet, relaxing does not remove the burden of today.

Running away would bring sweet monetary dreams of grandeur.

Alas, I am destined for something much more grander.

Nevertheless, the work must be done regardless how much I perspire.

The legacy I leave behind will carry on pass me, even after I've expired.

...

Author's Notes: Thank You for reading. If You like to read other poems written by me about establishing a collection of writings, then please click the two links below. May You enjoy them. Feel free to leave a comment. I look forward to Your perspective.

slam poetryperformance poetry
4

About the Creator

Thavien Yliaster

Thank You for stopping by. Please, make yourself comfortable. I'm a novice poet, fiction writer, and dream journalist.

Instagram

YouTube

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Loved the acrostic!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Well said

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    Yes - we are too often slaves to ourselves - to our perceived legacy

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.