Poets logo

I Am Loose, Spinning

Spinning

By Braden CPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

First there was Excalibur

He remains firm

Immovable by just a man like myself.

But I wait for the day his hero comes -

I know there is more for him and more for me.

*

Then I collided with the Milky Way

She teased

Withdrew

Left me clueless and spinning in a vacuum -

She's destructive in her beauty

But I caught a glimpse and oh do I want more.

*

Some time passed.

I thought I saw Excalibur's saviour

His release

They were burning molten steel

Melting into wood and cloth and I saw their sights but I was blind

They left Excalibur behind -

A hero of many

They led me somewhere new.

*

In this new land I dug for scraps

I found gold.

She didn't know her value

I found so much beauty and worth in her golden words

Some words I can only listen to

And try my lowly man's best to cherish.

*

But I'm a selfish and abandoned soul

I want gold and I want more -

I want steel

And

Though she's far

I want the Milky Way in my arms.

*

A house of gold I might just get

And a suit of steel

To borrow then shed.

I know I'll never cherish these as much as I should

But my god I wish I could.

But wanderlust still returns on days I can't foretell

And my warped and ravenous chaos craves the Milky Way as well.

*

And while I'm more than happy to see Excalibur flourish

And to watch gold from across an ocean as she watches back

I'm scared -

I'm scared steel's heat will burn me out

And I fear the Milky Way will lose her light

Forget her momentum

Tease me

Then snuff me out again.

* * *

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Braden C

he/him . infinite love

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.