Poets logo

I Am Left so Empty

Crushed

By Mark Stigers Published 6 months ago 1 min read
2
I Am Left so Empty
Photo by CHUTTERSNAP on Unsplash

I am left so empty

inside there is a void

I feel so hollow and threadbare

twenty years together destroyed

because my Love no longer cared

she’d cry out for me to end my life

and to do it by my own hand

I had to escape the woe and strife

I was forced to take a stand

from an old secluded brick house

built by my Great Grandpa along ago

I was thrown out by my spouse

greater sorrow I will never know

I paid off the long term debt

from her paycheck, not a dime

when I called for help, what did I get

that it was me that committed a crime

Tucson insists that her evils taughts

for my suicidal death each night

was a tactic they felt was good response

to a poor victimized women’s plight

The police said that I had to get

my property she now possesses

I am now a homeless vet

calls for my death Tucson blesses

I am left in the cold

I’ve been torn from my land

an injustice done so bold

just because I’m a man

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Mark Stigers

One year after my birth sputnik was launched, making me a space child. I did a hitch in the Navy as a electronics tech. I worked for Hughes Aircraft Company for quite a while. I currently live in the Saguaro forest in Tucson Arizona

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani6 months ago

    I agree with Dharrsheena - this was a very heartbreaking poem. Wishing you well, Mark.

  • Gosh this was so tragic and heartbreaking. I hope you are okay.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.