Poets logo

I am just a Mom

A mom whose concerned for her son’s future

By Paige Turner Published 2 years ago 1 min read
1
I am just a Mom
Photo by Javier Miranda on Unsplash

The world around us is filled with uncertainty

No one knows what the future of humanity will be

Global warming, wars, women losing rights

Global Pandemic, mass shootings you can’t help but feel contrite

The melting icebergs, forest fires, there’s plastic everywhere!

The earth is dying before our eyes and no one seems to care

The future for us humans doesn’t seem to look too bright

So many terrible things are happening, I’m loosing sleep at night

I am just a mom, one person out of 7 billion

I am no one special, I’m just a Canadian civilian

I try to do my part, try to be the best I can be

But I’m worried for my son and the future that he’ll see

I wish I could do something more, to change the course we’re on

I wish humanity could come together before we are all dead and gone

These are the worries that are constantly on my mind

I worry for my sons life and the future we leave behind

I am a mom trying her best to raise her son

Teaching him life lessons, but also trying to have fun

My son is growing up, one day he will be a man

I’m hoping that he can forgive us even though it’s hard to understand

How we can leave the earth, our home, in such a disarray

It’s too late now the next generation has to deal with it anyway

They’ll have to find someway to fix all the damage that we’ve done

Hopefully they’ll learn from our mistakes and realize the earth is for everyone

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Paige Turner

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.