Poets logo

I Am

By Donald Quixote

By Donald QuixotePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I am present, future, and past,

All there is or ever was.

I am the effect,

Also the cause.

I am Adam

And I am Eve.

I am the light in the dark

Which cannot be seen.

I am the hope of millions

And the downfall of the few,

Always there waiting,

Rarely in view.

I am the breaking of sound

At summer’s dawn

And the unbroken winter

When each of us mourn.

I am a redeemer

Though I bring no redemption.

I am happiness,

Also compunction.

I am erstwhile hopes, dreams,

That fade away,

Minute by minute,

Day by day.

I am meaning.

Truth.

Lies.

Fear.

Forever far.

Always near.

I am religion and soul,

Spirit and faith,

Buddha, God, Allah,

Suns, stars, and space.

I am words to a pauper

Uttered long ago, out of

Care and concern

And a wish to grow.

I am emptiness of form,

The no-thing of everything,

The no-ture of nature,

The length of a piece of string.

I cannot be known -

I am in each of you.

I am hope in fear

Life in death,

Sight in blindness,

There in each breath.

I am each moment,

Each grain of time…

I don’t need to make sense;

I can choose when to rhyme.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Donald Quixote

Hopeless romantic,

adventurer in paradox;

so it goes

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.