Poets logo

I Am Home

There is such wonder in the natural world if you take time to observe, stay present, with your heart opened and reflect.

By Jasmina PetrovskiPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Original photo~Jasmina

I look up at the majestic long branches of the blue gum tree. They gracefully stretch towards the sky, the leaves atop swaying as the wind passes through gently caressing them.

The silky smooth trunk sturdy, the roots anchored deep into the earth it stands tall, sure of its purpose.

I watch the various birds as they joyfully tweet and chirp playing and chasing each other from branch to branch, their different sounds intertwining with that of the insects below creating a symphony.

Underneath, the grass like clusters of emerald hold slender stalks with showy flowers. Reminding me of ballerinas, swaying and dancing with the wind.

I take a deep breath in, the warm sweet smell of jasmine and notes of lavender greet me from the shrubs nearby.

Momentarily I close my eyes as I breathe out slowly, my senses overwhelmed. Reaching for my cup of tea I take a sip allowing the liquid to pass my lips.

The subtle taste of honey and rosehips swirl in my mouth taking me further into my reverie.

With the suns rays upon me like the warm hug of an eager lover I continue to observe the natural beauty that is effortlessly weaving it’s magic all around me leaving me feeling grateful, content and at peace. I am home.

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.