Poets logo

I am

A poem

By Germaine MooneyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
I am
Photo by Erik Müller on Unsplash

I'm the creek of the door

The scratching on the floor

I'm the knock on the glass

The shudder as I pass

I'm the smile in the dark

The footsteps in the park

I'm the torch that goes out

The head crammed full of doubt

I'm the voice in your ear

you're trying to ignore.

So turn out all the lights.

So I can be alone with you once more.

I know that you pretend,

That I’m not really here.

That you don’t see me.

But know this... I’ve always been here. (I am always here)

I'm the hair in the sink

The rotten cellar stink

I'm the upside down cross

The reason for your loss

I'm the book bound in skin

The darkness held within

I'm the legend of old

The one they never told

I'm the reason the church

gave the preacher a call.

His words lifted you up.

I'll make sure that you fall.

I'm the alter of blood

The markings in the mud

I'm the black laurel wreath

The talisman of teeth

I'm the guts and the gore

The one who cries for more

I'm the bones in the urn

The walls that start to churn

I'm the claws on your skin

as you try to break free.

You can run all you want

but you won't escape me.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Germaine Mooney

dark romance writer, poet, relationship councillor and sci-fantasy geek. Geek culture reviewer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.