Poets logo

I Am Drowning

A Poem

By Alana SticklesPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
I Am Drowning
Photo by Adrien Olichon on Unsplash

White winter waters

Stab into my flesh

Taunting and tearing

Their words are far from fresh

Fall's fiery floods

Are burning down my soul

Upset and despairing

I'm losing my control

Summer suns searing

The way they always do

Lying down and bleeding

Must I lose myself too?

Spring's silents sympathy

Pity is more like

Tittering and muttering

Her constant consideration an even fiercer strike

My life is spiraling madness

A storm of constant woe

I can't let you any closer

And don't dare to let you go

Just please let me have something

That isn't fleeting

Give me something magical

Where in the end I'm not retreating

You've given me hope

Only to snatch it up and away

In bloodied cracking claws

I hadn't had it one full day

Can't you see that

I am done

Bleed me dry

You've already won

Leave me to rot

In a prison made of skin and bone

Broken minds and broken bodies

Don't know how they can atone

Glittering ball gowns

Are shining far away

In a world I don't exist for

My world is meant for gray

I'm falling toward rock bottom

Down bellow there is a net

Torn to tatters by words said long ago

That I will not soon forget

I am drowning in a world

Meant for stronger souls than I

Soon the white winter waters will pull me down

And then I'll simply die

art

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Alana SticklesWritten by Alana Stickles

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.