Poets logo

I Am Close To Turning Seventy

Aging isn't difficult until it is

By Denise E LindquistPublished about a year ago 1 min read
50 something friend/coworker and me at a concert in Chicago - March 2023!

The hubby is seventy-three. He turned 70 three years ago already.

Not me. I won't be 70 until next year now. Will I take a bow?

Hardly, this is my year to feel like I am getting elderly!

*

It wasn't thirty, like cousin Richie!

He decided 30 was old in his teens, so, it was old for him in his twenties too.

*

Just like many people think it is their forties. Many do!

I guess losing a gallbladder and needing glasses happen to many at 40.

Not me, but many do need help to see.

*

Then there is 50 for many. Fifty is halfway to 100 years old.

50 is old!! That has them sold.

*

Sixty is getting close to retirement. My sister-in-law knows. Just ask her.

Making that the age of old. She says you are ready to be put out to pasture.

*

Now I know that 70 is the real age that is when you are feeling like you know what others don't.

You know that time is flying by and you won't

be here forever. And you didn't plan to be here this long and never

planned to outlive a younger sister and brother, not ever!

And it is okay with you to go, as many of your friends and family are gone on.

They have left this place and you have no fear as you believe there is another place Hon.

*

Hubby has family that lived to be in their 80s, 90s, and an auntie that lived to be 103.

80s is as old as my family went, and it won't be me to see 103, no it won't be me!

performance poetry

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Test9 months ago

    So thoughfully written! Really made me think about age and time and all sorts of things I have a habit of avoiding! 🤍

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    As Cathy said, age is a state of mind!!! Fabulous performance poem!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    Age is a state of mind, so they say. Nicely done.

  • Kendall Defoe about a year ago

    Delightfully witty...and true!

Denise E LindquistWritten by Denise E Lindquist

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.