Poets logo

I Am Beautiful

Love yourself. Please.

By Becca MPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

Mental illness is both my blessing,

And my curse.

My beauty,

And my shame.

I love being able to experience my emotions so intensely,

To love so hard and so purely,

To be so full of joy I can't contain myself.

But I hate feeling the pain.

I hate how I overthink every conversation.

How every word can so easily cut like a knife.

How easily I can make something out of nothing.

I hate how small, meaningless things can cause bouts of panic, tears, and steal my breath from my lungs.

But I love the beauty of being broken.

I love the perspective it's given me.

I love the intricacy of a bruised psyche.

The love it gave me for music,

And the love it gave me for words.

My mental illness kills me, but also saves me.

Some days I want to take my own life.

Some days I'd never wish for any life but my own.

You know,

It took me a long time,

22 years,

To realize that my mental illness is not my identity.

I am a separate person.

Bipolar mixed affective disorder and PTSD do not define me.

But to truly love myself,

I had to learn to love them too.

I had to learn to give myself the unconditional love I want so badly to give everyone else

And I'm finally getting to that.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Becca M

Hi! I'm 22 years old, I love music, and live off of Cherry Pepsi and books. I love writing poetry about my experiences, my battle with mental illness, and my emotions. 🖤

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.