Poets logo

I AM ALL COLORS OF THE SPECTRUM

Bright And Beautiful Rainbow

By Beautiful IntelligencePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
I AM ALL COLORS OF THE SPECTRUM
Photo by Al Butler on Unsplash

It’s hard being white when you’re black.

It’s hard being black when you’re white.

An irony at best but waiting to unpack.

I always considered myself light,

Because it was said as if I didn’t lack.

But others were right to call me white,

Fighting while both, to survive my attacks.

I never knew they saw my light,

Things were not that plain for me to see or intact.

And it took all of my might,

To walk strong, head held down, curved back.

But all colors of my rainbow showed in their sight.

Put up against the two most known colors that lacked,

Colorists can’t see the two are coincidental, the reasoning one being bright,

The other void of color, but made from primary colors, not a simple task but a fact.

You see there are people that are off white,

And there are people that are off black.

So the childhood me discovered in a mirror I was more than alright,

Because no one person can really be exact.

Self appreciation and acceptance can be a plight,

Because there are no real comparisons, all are special made to impact.

While white goes with everything to make things seem polite,

Black goes with everything blending impurities and will not crack.

That’s why there are similar differences and they are more alike.

My poem is not about race but to merge black and white’s pact.

If I were, I would encourage us to use the word culture, for it is right.

Those two are not colors, let us not put on a fictitious act.

I only have an aura others try to dim because it is a blinding sight.

It signifies spirituality balance creativity and blessings imprinted to track.

Intuition higher than others and dreams so important reaching imaginable heights,

Innovator and creator, successes left without a rack.

More spiritual than physical to align myself tight.

All colors within me makes everyone else around me lucky not Jacked.

Representing balance harmony and peace signifying a free-flowing kite

I’m all inclusive with gratitude, no longer carrying a heavy load or sack.

Head so high in the air my halo ricocheting beautifully under the sky's night

SO PROUD THAT MY AURA IS WHITE AND I’M CULTURALLY BLACK!!!

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Beautiful Intelligence

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.