Poets logo

I AM

A Poem

By Eris NyxPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
I AM
Photo by Mathilde Langevin on Unsplash

I am a young school girl,

Already hiding from the world,

Still, this cruel world rushes on,

Sweeping me under the currents of time,

Shaping me, molding me against my will,

It teaches me not to form a bond,

It lies to me when it says everything is fine,

It's a never ending battle up a hill.

I am a foster child,

My life story is bound in a file,

The world hides from my gaze,

It trembles at young eyes grown old,

It taught me not to trust anyone,

Then it complains when that is the case,

Sometimes I just feel so very cold,

Life has been drained of all fun.

I am a teenage mother,

I'm never going to wear silks and furs,

They told me this would happen,

It is a cycle of abuse and neglect,

The world turns upon me a patronizing stare,

And yet, I ignore it and pick up a pen,

With a baby in my lap, I reflect,

How life has taught me it is not fair.

I am a college graduate,

A person's destiny is not always set,

Walking down the road with my child,

In one hand, I hold my bachelor's degree,

In the other, I hold the hand of my inspiration,

I went through life's metamorphosis,

Now, I have a smile to rival the sun.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Eris Nyx

Writer, poet, and avid reader. She/her pronouns. Proud cat mom. Lover of tea, games, and shoddy disaster films.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.