Poets logo

I am a mirror of extinction

Extinct animals

By KodahPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
16
Pinterest

I said to my soul

Be still

And wait without hope

For hope would be hope for the wrong thing

I took you to the nearby lake~

"Go on!"

You didn't move.

Look~

Another me in the lake

A depiction of another me facing my own battles

It keeps staring at me

It looks sad...

It looks destroyed...

I am not cruel, only truthful

I would never hurt myself

Like how they hurt... us~

Another me in the lake

Another being that looks like me

I'm Alone now, not with the light that lives inside my friend anymore

My accompany

No wonder I do not please people

I am a mirror

I have far too many things to act upon in society~

I wept as my friend's blood pooled around me.

nature poetryart
16

About the Creator

Kodah

- Storyteller, Love/Romance, Poetry, Dark, Mental health, Psychological, Surreal, Nature, Mythical

~𝓢𝓽𝓸𝓻𝓲𝓮𝓼 𝓬𝓪𝓷 𝓫𝓮 𝓪 𝓵𝓲𝓽𝓽𝓵𝓮 𝓭𝓮𝓮𝓹~

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Hannah Moore2 months ago

    Wait without hope - I like that bit a lot.

  • Babs Iverson2 months ago

    Brilliantly written!!! Impressive and loved it!!!

  • Billy lewis3 months ago

    Fantastic work! Your poems are always so meaningful.

  • Caroline Craven3 months ago

    So talented. Your poems always make me think.

  • Oooo, that last line! That was my favouriteeee! Your poem was so poignant and emotional!

  • Priya P.3 months ago

    Powerful poem Kodah. Love your work, well done!

  • Jade Loson3 months ago

    Love the way you conveyed symbol and meaning! Beautiful work Kodah! ❤️

  • PJ Watts3 months ago

    I love the idea of the lake as a mirror and the liminal point. This is beautifully written.

  • Lunaverse3 months ago

    Sad, poignant, beautiful storytelling!

  • Kageno Hoshino3 months ago

    Your poem is nice, and I really like the image you selected, it's captivating, I just love it

  • D. J. Reddall3 months ago

    An enigmatic and subtly disturbing set of images is conjured by this poem. Nicely done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.