Poets logo

I Am a Melanated Memoir

The Song Within

By Merlin MystiquePublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Oladimeji Odunsi on Unsplash

My melanin tells a story.

My melanin holds history.

For centuries my melanin has been the backbone of civilization.

Since the dawn of time, my melanin has created, discovered, and recovered.

My Melanin has endured centuries of torture.

Abuse tried to condemn my melanin to eternal damnation,

but my melanin survived the fires of hell and Satan himself.

My melanin is victorious.

My melanin demolished the chains that kept it locked up.

My melanin went to war and overcame adversity.

My melanin ruled the free world.

My melanin birthed a nation.

Although it is under assault, my melanin refuses to fade.

My melanin educates and delegates.

Why be frightened?

Why be fearful?

It's just melanin.

This melanin is powerful.

This melanin is sanctified.

This melanin is magic.

Ask Michelle about this melanin.

Ask Barack about this melanin.

Ask Harriet about this melanin.

Ask Frederick about this melanin.

If you don't know, then now you know.

This melanin pops severely.

This melanin is a force to be reckoned with.

My melanin has been scorned.

My melanin carries a fury like no other.

My melanin goes to war with hatred.

My melanin is love.

This melanin is peace.

This melanin is God.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Merlin Mystique

Hi. I'm Merlin. I'm a Black Transgender Woman. This is My Evolution

Twitter MerinMystique

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.