Poets logo

I am...(4)

Curious

By Kaydie PaschallPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Brett Sayles from Pexels

I am curious.

I love to learn new things

And when I encounter something new

I want to understand it.

I don't need to become an expert at it

But I want to understand enough

That it is not some vague or mysterious concept.

When my curiosity is satisfied

I'll move on

To the the next thing I don't know much about...

Which pretty much gives me a

Nearly infinite supply of

Topics to study.

I remember taking a test in high school

That was supposed to help me

Focus on my interests.

My guidance counselor said

"According to this

You are interested in everything.

Most people

Will grow out of this

But I have a feeling that in your case

That's just not going to happen."

He was right.

My focus ended up being

Training consulting...

Constantly encountering

New subject matter and new subject matter experts...

{sigh} HEAVENLY!!!

I think that this particular quality

Is one of the reasons why

People are willing to talk to me so freely

I am genuinely interested

In what they have to say and

I am genuinely interested

In them.

"Oh you have a passion for something

Really? Tell me more!"

I love listening to people

Talk about the subject matter that

Lights them up

Whether it is their career

Their hobby

Their grand kids

Their personal philosophy.

It is energizing and exciting to have

Those types of conversations...

To talk about plans and dreams and not

Just problems and pains.

There is so much to learn...

So many people to get to know...

It's fascinating!

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Kaydie Paschall

Training Consultant, Disaster Preparedness Advocate, Poet, Wordsmith, Humorist...I evoke feelings, grins and giggles and on my best days thought and share the jewels and gems of lessons learned along the way. - Disaster Drama Queen

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.