Poets logo

Hush Hush, I Must

Thoughts Off The Record

By ArrielPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
3

[ An excerpt from my first self-published book:

"QUICKJAB PRESENTS, 22 POEMS FOR 2022" ]

Hush, Hush, I Must by Arriel

Never satisfied

crossing paths with my reflection.

Stopping time

with my squinty eyes

and blotchy complexion.

Always betraying myself,

having mastered deception.

I look back at me,

unforgivingly,

and with much contention.

Forgive yourself,

Love yourself,

You’ll be okay - they keep saying.

But I torment myself.

I loathe myself.

Each day is dismaying.

This battle is internal

and classified Top Secret.

The monster I have manifested,

I don’t ever speak of it.

It’s seeping out now,

allowing me to write this poem.

But I will control the ooze,

so it won’t seep into your home.

My aptitude seems driven by my pain and anguish.

Maybe we all store demons we’d like to vanquish.

This number two pencil has perpetually served as my stake.

Always scratching out and dotting “i’s” where I may.

In the end, once again...

a spell has kept my monster at bay.

So I take a moment of silence,

For having made it

one

more

day.

inspirational
3

About the Creator

Arriel

As someone who grew up a variable, writing has always been my constant.

33. Tribe of 6 building a legacy. Author, Poet, Editor, Artist. [NY to FL to VA]

Author of "QUICKJAB PRESENTS, 22 POEMS FOR 2022"

@QueenBQuick Let's Connect to Create!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.