Poets logo

Hurts like Inferno

Spoken Word Poetry

By Tarun GuptaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Poetry performed by Author

I can't fathom why the gap widened

the bridge we made got collapsed

the bonds we formed

were they so feeble

that a moment was enough for you

to let it all go …

It was all surreal for me

to have someone like you in my life

but I guess you were not involved

in me as I was into you …

The air smelled intoxicating

when you were near me

but what you did other than

toxicating my heart for everyone else was nothing …

I kept hoping as we fall more in love

we get more closure and closer

but neither you fell in love

nor we reached the paradise …

Your arms, your arms were my world

and all I ever asked of you

was to never let anyone be their world …

I am done giving my all to you

coz it was you who never gave anything back

while I kept breaking down my walls

you were busy solidifying them …

Now I know why we never worked out

coz you were you

while I was trying to be us

this hurts this hurts

this hurts like inferno …

© Tarun Gupta

Thanks for reading my poetry.

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Tarun Gupta

A simple fellow writing stories, sharing experiences, sharing his perspective, trying to do his share of humanity.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.