Poets logo

Hurry Up and Get it Done

Distractions of a Life

By Judey Kalchik Published 10 months ago 1 min read
19
Image by <a href="https://pixabay.com/users/geralt-9301/?utm_source=link-attribution&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=image&utm_content=6780711">Gerd Altmann</a> from <a href="https://pixabay.com//?utm_source=link-attribution&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=image&utm_content=6780711">Pixabay</a>

Deadlines screech demanding place

Insistent, endless, frantic pace.

Strictly taught from birth: ‘first comes work’

Then duty-family-obligations in the evening lurk.

Restful relaxation can wait until chores are done,

Amazingly little time left for life and fun.

Children carry on as taught, as they are told

Then when grown continue (daren’t break the mold).

Is it now therefore such a crime?

One hour a day- should I find the time?

Nothing. Nothing. Blessed nothing but me living gets done?

Image by <a href="https://pixabay.com/users/8385-8385/?utm_source=link-attribution&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=image&utm_content=259458">Reimund Bertrams</a> from <a href="https://pixabay.com//?utm_source=link-attribution&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=image&utm_content=259458">Pixabay</a>

—-

This poem is an acrostic- the first letters of each line spell out a word.

That same word is shown in this poem- but it is expressed quite differently.

I appreciate you reading my thoughts! While you’re here, please choose one or more of the ways below to interact with me and the other writers on Vocal.

FIVE ways to interact with writers on Vocal:

  1. Leave a comment and share your thoughts.
  2. Click on the little heart to let me know that this clicked with you.
  3. Click on the subscribe button and get a FREE notification when my next post goes live.
  4. Feel free to share a link to anything I write on your social media.
  5. A one-time tip or even a monthly pledge to support my writing is always appreciated if you are so moved!

social commentaryperformance poetryinspirational
19

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • C. H. Richard10 months ago

    Amplifies the guilt feeling of just doing nothing but living for an hour. So crazy how we work so hard and set aside minimal time to just enjoy life. Love it ❤️

  • Gina C.10 months ago

    I love this so much; you have accurately described the rush and the hectic (often remorseful) feeling of not being able to relax amid never-ending chores. We teach children this from such an early age. 🥲 I love your questioning at the end -- very thought provoking!! ❤️

  • Excellent work, an accurate slice of life, and no doubt another Top Story. Think I am now banned from getting Top Stories because I owe Vocal $2 🤣

  • Tehreem nadeem10 months ago

    Also read https://vocal.media/journal/alex-pursuing-his-dream

  • Tehreem nadeem10 months ago

    Nice one

  • Sonia Heidi Unruh10 months ago

    Apt description of the struggle with an ingrained work ethic! Sometimes it seems the only way to justify "just living" is to add it to the to-do list.

  • I love your use of couplets and how you go back to a previous couplet to rhyme the last line since it doesn't have an official pair!

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    Too true. And here I am, reading stories. 🤣

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    Wonderful piece. Isn't it the truth though? We were taught if you're not doing anything, you're wasting time.

  • Real Poetic10 months ago

    Amazing work.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.