Poets logo

Hummingbird

Glittering Starfontlet

By Gunnar AndersonPublished about a year ago 1 min read
2
Hummingbird
Photo by Zdeněk Macháček on Unsplash

Wisdom is infinite

As is the motion of my wings

I hunt for the sweet nectars

In the flowers of my Columbian home

Where I hid amongst the trees

With the blues, greens, and golds

Of my small and delicate form

Gifted by the gods that made me

They found me once and took me

But the never found me twice

Within the same century

Being elusive and small in number

Until fifty years of solitude

Found me at the mercy of man again

And I earned myself a protected home

For me and hundreds

Of my blue throated family

surreal poetrynature poetry
2

About the Creator

Gunnar Anderson

I am a young aspiring novelist with an arts degree in English Creative Writing with a focus in both fiction and poetry from Arizona State University where I made the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Dean's List upon my 2020 graduation.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • PK Colleranabout a year ago

    Beautiful images: both the photo and the poetic words. Hummingbirds are amazing creatures. Thank you.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.