Poets logo

Humble Heart

h is for heart

By Pamela Walsh-HoltePublished about a year ago 1 min read
Runner-Up in Tautogram Challenge
16
She held his heart

He held her hand

Her hand held his heart

He held his head high

He honored her

Hearing her hesitation

His heart harbored hurt

His head hung

Hardening his humble heart

heartbreak
16

About the Creator

Pamela Walsh-Holte

Retired social worker seaking to find my name among the "Chreators we are Loving", but alas it has not been so. Be still my heart, do not despair, your day may come...Until then I wait, anticipating some, be it ever so slight, recognition.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Angie the Archivist 📚🪶a day ago

    Excellent poem… especially considering it’s a tautogram! Well deserved placing. ✅ I only learnt about tautograms four months ago when Dharrsheena commented that she thought my silly alliteration gone crazy poem was going to be a tautogram.🤣

  • C.Z.11 months ago

    Impressive!

  • Thank you all for your words and encouragement! I have to say I was shocked when I saw I had placed! I look forward to reading your works, I'm excited there is so much talent here!

  • I am shocked! I decided to check and see who one some of the challenges I had enetered and to my surprise I received an honorable mention! I am so greatful!

  • Kristen Balyeatabout a year ago

    Beautiful tautogram, Pamela!!! An entire story in so few lines conveying strong emotion! Congrats on your placement!! 💫

  • Poppy about a year ago

    This is just beautiful

  • Abby Kay Mendoncaabout a year ago

    It’s used such similar phrases to mine and yet has a completely different meaning. I love it and I love words lol 🌸

  • ARCabout a year ago

    Pamela, this is really good. Love the form of this piece. You created a lot of power with your repetition… the ‘huffing’ of the h creates a sort of breathy drumbeat. Really well done. Congrats on placing in this very competitive challenge!! Well deserved 👏

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Congratulations!!!

  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    Lovely, lovely, Hope she loves. Read mine I will read yours, Seriously. Lovely poem.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.