Poets logo

Human

A poem contemplating capitalism.

By Cristal HarrisPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Human
Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

S

I never forget that capitalism creates inhumanity.

He normalizes shame, guilt, and fear.

He persuades you to slip into autopilot. He sings sweet songs of labor.

Lullabies of honor and bravery.

He entices the essential parts of you.

Are you convinced that you are alone and powerless?

I came alive writing, painting, dancing, creating...

Yet, I was convinced that it wasn't practical.

That the only value worth mentioning was in dollars and cents.

That impracticality, the gall, I had to think anyone enjoyed the creations of someone so black, so dark, so neurodivergent.

Authenticity offended him. It offended his endless pursuit of more.

It offended the two royal roles he knighted me: Mammy or Pawn.

My breath was more than the world could handle.

His face was soaked with my blood.  Yet, I raise my cup of freedom.

I look to my left, and there is my strength.

I steal a glance to my right, so beautifully poised my inner child stands with me.

We all watched as Capitalism had choked. None of us dare to disrupt what the universe ordained.

It had choked on the very people it so eagerly devoured.

My expression became laughter. My cheeks tightened with joy.

My eyes became small and upturned with glee.

I was a living piece of art carefully placed to bear witness to his death.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Cristal Harris

S

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.