Poets logo

Hues of Love

Sara Christine

By Sara ChristinePublished 3 years ago 1 min read

There is familiarity – and I soak it in.

I close my eyes and feel the energy of the sun

As it reaches my body through the trees.

I hear the soft trickle of our creek

As it runs over the rocks and tree roots.

I hear the morning songs of our birds and

Their movement amongst the trees.

I see the new buds of leaves forming on the branches,

The green is vibrant as new life dwells within.

I see the dwindling creek fading,

Knowing it returns to the earth for summer.

I stand surrounded by both re-birth and release.

The change of season is very welcome,

I release winter and all of its storms.

They were weathered, barely, and here I stand.

My place of rebirth from the ashes

Of what was to be the path of our family

Is now a journey I take with my girls.

Our triangle forges on in peace love harmony.

I remember the day, the moment when it was ash,

Just a pile of smoldering ash.

No longer a home with life inside,

The bustle of family and pets is now just ash.

No final goodbye to them, just gone.

Today I remember my colours

As I rose from those ashes

Like a phoenix reborn from a life

Weighed down by tragedy.

I am a new woman ready to walk and live

In a world full of colour – pinks and yellows

Hues of love, my love.

~SC

how to

About the Creator

Sara Christine

she/her

Welcome to my challenge pieces for VOCAL...each pushing my writing to a new level.

At the heart of it, I want to write to evoke emotion within you, my reader, through my words.

aras blog - a resourceful and sagacious blog

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Lucy Fur10 months ago

    Absolutely love this, heartfelt words

Sara ChristineWritten by Sara Christine

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.