Poets logo

How You Change

A Post Break Up Thought Spiral

By Melody LeMay SellersPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

From afar, I watch the person you are becoming from afar.

Anxiously sit in silence as you change completely from who I knew.

Social media hides nothing from even those we wish to hide from.

Mutual friends see you differently than I will.

I knew you as a person who was soft and reserved.

I met you as a person who needed someone to extend a hand.

I understood you as a person who did not thrive in limelight.

With me, you were never so boisterous unless you were upset.

With me, you were sincere and nervous in a crowd.

With me, you were delicate with a wall only I seemed to break down.

With me, you were never so showy and brash with our friends...

Now...

You are different. You are not the person I fell and stayed in love with.

You are a person who is flirtatious and thrive in attention.

You are out-spoken and energetic, asking for more attention.

You are popular and more expressive, if not pretentious.

No, I am wrong... you were brash with those you were attracted to.

I am wrong... you were showy with those you wanted affection from.

I am wrong... you were energetic... when you forgot I was there.

You ACTED reserved, aloof, soft and comfortable with me alone.

You PRETENDED to prefer the quiet and not prefer clique attention.

You HID your true, unabashed self from me until you no longer loved me.

I do not like the person you have expressed since I have been away.

I do not like the person I see on social media.

I do not like the way you act in front of our mutual friends...

So polar different from how you acted with them in front of me.

Perhaps I need to wait to change myself before I like you again.

Perhaps you need to grow up and think about how you're seen.

Perhaps you need to find out who you are on front of Everyone.

Is it my fault for being too clear about what I liked about you?

Did I make you afraid to be who you really were?

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Melody LeMay Sellers

UC Davis Alumnus who spends most of her time writing song lyrics or lengthy Tumblr posts about her feelings on any particular day. My passions include theatre, music, and my pets. Theatre will always be first in my heart. Find me on YouTube

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.