Poets logo

How To Be Diaphanous

A poem

By Chloë J.Published 12 months ago 1 min read
3
How To Be Diaphanous
Photo by Julia Kicova on Unsplash

I knife through the world,

all prickles and efficiency,

cutting so deep, so quick,

that the blood waits politely to fall.

/

Triangle plates are my favorite;

you can slide them into the corner

of a crowded table (squeeze me in-

there isn’t room for me with circle plates).

/

I walked in frost and fragility once,

stepping so lightly as I danced that

my feet made no echoes. But verglas

became vampiric at another’s command.

/

I forged gossamer into a blade,

beat by the moon and tides,

imprisoned in silver, a delicate,

binding tomb in perpetuity.

/

How to be diaphanous-

how would I know? I am all edges,

knobby-kneed and gangly. Teach me,

wind, to be gentle. And to unlearn pain.

//

fact or fiction
3

About the Creator

Chloë J.

Probably not as funny as I think I am

Insta @chloe_j_writes

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Brenton F12 months ago

    Those last two lines cap off a brilliant piece of work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.