Poets logo

How Many Licks Does It Take

Hypocrisy

By Imam Qadriyyah Mabel-DorothyPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo taken from Jidenna video "Knickers" on JidennaVEVO

I don't even think he is real anymore

he only calls when i promise i'll never talk to him again

he calls and calls and calls but when i answer he has nothing to say

when i don't have the time, he does

when i do, he don't

this is crazy

when i'm not thinking about him he doesn't call

when he crosses my mind and i tell myself he's no good for me ... he calls

i am starting to think he only exists to prove to me that i'm full of shyt

that's how i met him you know

"i'm done with niggas!"

and he popped up

i was out minding my own business

not interested in him even though he is clearly interested in me

and normally that's a turn on

but not this time

i direct my attention to someone more my style

turns out he's lots of ladies style

no worries ... on to the next one

and ... the next one

okay, Red, lets see what you have to offer

and that was that

and now it's this ... testy

testing to hear if my thoughts are true

testing to feel if my reason and passion have balance

testing to smell if i am ready for my destiny

testing to taste if i have learned my lessons

testing to see if i can see

i think this each time it goes down like this

is he even real anymore

or just a way to show me i ain't who i say i am

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Imam Qadriyyah Mabel-Dorothy

Imam Qadriyyah is best known to the majority of the population as a total and complete stranger; has used many alias, some alias include other people's name; has a resume that largely doesn't involve you. Much success to us all.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.