Poets logo

How Do You Do

My Inner Thoughts

By Kayton HickenlooperPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

Sitting here having a drink

At the same old place that everybody meets

Same old faces

The same old crowd

Sometimes I wonder

Is this the place for me

Or am I caught up in melancholy

That I forget how to breathe

Am I just craving that breath of fresh air

Where everything is a mystery

With things so fresh and new

Have I forgotten

What it was like to be with you

When we would go for rides

And belt every high note on the radio

Where we would laugh

Until tears were running down our face

Is it just sensory overload

Or working too hard

It is as if I have lost a long lost friend

However nights with are rather quite sleepless

What happened

Did I lose you too

The part of me that I never thought would go

What happened to the smile

That only the self could know

Where did it go?

I feel like crying

But still with no tears to show

My heart aches

But wounds I can prove

Have I forgot to catch myself

When I slipped through

Will I rise again?

Can it be so?

Am I just numbing the pain

From all the years past

Bottling it away

So that no one has to know

What is truly inside

Where the cracks have a slim glow

Really I know what to do

And it's probably just worry

That won't let me see through

So instead

I sit here with a drink in my hand

With all the same faces

At the place

And I just cheers and say

How do you do

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Kayton Hickenlooper

I write to clear my mind. To get out of the fog of daily confusion. An artist by heart. To live, laugh, and grow.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.