Poets logo

How do I show you I love you?

A love letter to Earth.

By Victoria Kemp Published 3 years ago 1 min read

I feel a deep-seated pain in your roots. Do you call out for me? I feel your tears on my cheek. Are you calling me? I see your anguish in the skies above me. Is it me you are calling too? I see the damage I've done. How can I make it up to you?

I'm overwhelmed to make a change. Where do I start? What do I save? So many issues raise to the front of my mind, and yet I am one person, and I only have so much time.

Show me the way to redemption of our home, show me the first step in making you whole. I look into the soul of you Gaia, and all I see is a reflection of me. The same reflection is in the eyes of fellow people around me, of animals, I pass in real life and on tv.

I've done the research. I've seen the footage. There is no more substantial way to help you than to stop eating, abusing, and farming animals. ANY ANIMAL!

I am far from perfect. I ask for your patience, as much as you have left to give. I will change my lifestyle. I will eat that which grows from the ground, the sea, or a tree. That which was provided to us from the beginning with health, happiness, and prosperity in mind.

I will take this first step in healing you now, for generations to come.

No creature, no ecosystem, no livelihood will be destroyed by my dollar, as much as I can help it.

How else do I show you I love you?

nature poetry

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Victoria Kemp Written by Victoria Kemp

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.