Poets logo

How Did These Eyes Lose You?

A Parting Gaze; Forever...

By Kent BrindleyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
3
How Did These Eyes Lose You?
Photo by Bernard on Unsplash

We've both been here before

Time and again.

Trying to turn to lovers,

From something meant as only friends.

Our eyes met once

I swore we were meant to be.

Two hearts and two pairs of eyes

Lost in destiny.

You couldn't see for yourself

The beauty I beheld

"Not always perfect; but perfect for me,"

THAT was my pledge to tell.

I longed to look at you forever,

If you'd return my gaze.

Each moment together since the first,

Always left me so amazed.

One moment, I gazed upon you.

Then, suddenly, you weren't there.

How did I let these eyes wander for a second,

And lose our passionate stare?

Gone, but not forgotten,

A beauty not unseen.

For a fleeting look, I saw another princess,

Now these eyes have lost a queen...

Gazing into emptiness of,

Another passion left unserved;

Lonely here but wishing upon you,

The passion YOU deserve...

By Clay Banks on Unsplash

By Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

heartbreak
3

About the Creator

Kent Brindley

Smalltown guy from Southwest Michigan

Lifelong aspiring author here; complete with a few self-published works always looking for more.

https://www.instagram.com/kmoney_gv08/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.