Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

How Dare You Disrespect Me?

Trigger Warning* This Poem Consists of Racial Stereotypes and May Make You Uncomfortable Or Even Upset.

By CheyennePublished about a year ago 1 min read

How dare you disrespect me?

Hair "nappy"

Golden Skin

Beautiful Brown and Happy.

How dare you disrespect me?

I wonder what society sees...what...is..their fucked up perception of me? 🤔

Am I the Section 8 Queen? or maybe the "Shaniqua" who dyed her lace front green?

Food stamps? Jordan's?

OR,

maybe even a dope fiend?

Baby on my hip, Lip gloss on my lips...

Hennessy in my cup, ALWAYS ready to turn up!!!

but wait hold up!!!

How dare you disrespect me?

Am I the black girl with the fake nails and 32 inch blonde weave running down my back?

Am I the black girl with the fake nails and 32 inch blonde weave hanging right above my ass crack?

Am I the black b*itch who turned up-last week all because I didn’t receive my welfare check? Yep!

Baby daddy drama? I put his ass right on child support!

He talk ALL.... THAT .... SH*T!

so guess what B*TCH! I’ll see YOU in court!

Twerking every weekend but yet I still can’t seem to find the time to work...

wait Wait WAIT y’all!

don't judge me because I KNOW WHO I AM....

I act super righteous and woke.. but I’m still sleeping with my best friends man, still trying to scam, pregnancies unplanned, pack of cigarettes in my hand.

Ghetto as hell but still blaming the WHITE MAN for what I fail to understand.

How dare I disrespect me?

SO THIS IS WHAT YA'LL THINK OF ME?

A ghetto black rat! Oh now I see.....

Chileeeee PLEASE.

I AM A QUEEN.

Worthy of everything ya'll TRIED to take from me

Everything that ya'll will NEVER be

Head held high walking with ALL of my dignity

BLACK AND PROUD

NO, not ghetto, not loud

Brown Sugar and Honey straight from the bees themselves...

Skin always glistening like Chocolate and Caramel.

Sun Kissed & Blessed

Created by GOD himself

None of society’s stereotypes can define what I KNOW about myself

Intelligent & Sophisticated without a doubt...

You can NEVER tell me WHO I AM

You can’t even figure me out.

sad poetryslam poetry

About the Creator

Cheyenne

Cheyenne... Black Woman. 30.

New York City is my Home.

I have anxiety.

I am an Introvert.

I love words.

My brain is in a constant state of wandering.

I hope you enjoy all that it entails.

I hope you can relate.

I hope this helps.

I hope.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    CheyenneWritten by Cheyenne

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.