Poets logo

How Can I Get You to Look

At me?

By Julie O'Hara - Author, Poet and Spiritual WarriorPublished 2 years ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
1

You come to this corner diner every night

Ordering the daily special with coffee hot and sweet

You stare at your phone, playing games and checking texts.

So baby, tell me, how can I get you to look at me?

I stand patiently by the register twirling my hair

Watching you not watching me

No matter how hard I try to get your attention

So tell me, how can I get you to look at me?

Baby, I can be your girl. And you can be my world.

I will be yours and you can be mine

Forever and for all time

Baby, I can be your girl. And you can be my world.

I will lay next to you with my head on your shoulder

With my hand on your chest, we can share all our dreams

And make love under the patchwork quilt my grandma made

So tell me, how can I get you to look at me?

I’m just that girl standing ten feet away

Sending you smiles you never receive

Topping off your coffee, I just want you to say hello

So tell me, how can I get you to look at me?

If you like this article, please consider tipping (below) or even becoming a patron. My books can be found on my website www.sacredsloth.net or online at Amazon and Barnes and Nobles under the name of Julie O’Hara Thank you very much and blessings on your journey.

vintage
1

About the Creator

Julie O'Hara - Author, Poet and Spiritual Warrior

Thank you for reading my work. Feel free to contact me with your thoughts or if you want to chat. [email protected]

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Angelina F. Thomas2 years ago

    Excellent. Keep up the great work. Glorious day eh?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.