Poets logo

How a Couch Potato Saved the World

ET Go Home

By Charliy NashPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
1

I don’t know why they landed in my yard.

Seven feet tall with skin of green,

The scariest creatures I’d ever seen.

Would communication be hard?

“We’re advance scouts,” the leader said.

“Our need to expand is quite intense

Unless your world has a strong defense

All humans will soon be dead.”

I was stunned (you would be too).

The fate of Earth was in my hands.

More pressure than I could withstand.

What could this poor boy do?

“This planet is protected,” was all I could say.

“You might as well begin retreatin’

Our heroes just cannot be beaten.

I’ll prove it if you come this way.”

Gathered around my TV I launched my plan:

Avengers, X-Men, Guardians of the Galaxy

All on the big screen from DVD

And I ended with Superman.

They all grew silent, it was hard to see

Their alien faces were hard to read.

Did my crazy plan succeed?

They left, and nobody believes me.

fact or fiction
1

About the Creator

Charliy Nash

Streams of consciousness with white water rapids.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Great poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.