Poets logo

Housewife, 34 - A Life in Full Colour

An Ode to Cumbria

By SJ SilverPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1
The Lake District in Autumn, Martin Marais @ Pixabay

Rainbow in the Lake District by Emphyrio @ Pixabay

I am a rainbow

and I will not dull my tones

to fit into your

monochromatic worldview.

I live my life in full, bold colour.

'Lake District Stargazing' thanks to windermeremarinavillage.co.uk

I am the night sky

with deep calming indigo

and bright flashes of

iridescent light as the

twinkling stars change colour before your eyes.

Lowick Green Allotments, Cumbria, with thanks to Sue Hotchkiss

I am a garden,

verdant, lush, and full of life.

Vibrant fauna and flora,

Dahlias, Sweet Peas, Gladioli!

Flourishing greens with bright fruit and ripe veg.

Lightning Over Devonshire Dock Hall, Barrow-in-Furness, with thanks to James Bird

I'm stormy oceans,

lighting and ominous skies.

Surreal, nightmarish creatures

hide in tumultuous grey,

waiting to feast on ships torn asunder.

Bowber Head Farm, Ravenstonedale, Cumbria with thanks to North West Evening Mail

I am a Spring day.

Insects floating lazily

over meadows of

pastel wildflowers whose scent

thickens the air with heady perfumes.

Cumbrian Bonfire with thanks to The North West Evening Mail

I'm a blazing fire

with infinite tongues of red

and sharp, orange teeth

that hungrily gnaw and nip

with an all-consuming passion or rage.

Cumbrian Factory with thanks to Martyn Fletcher on Flickr

I'm a factory.

Industriousness and concreate

held together with

muddied colours of grimy filth

and a jet black void of bleak drudgery.

A Cumbrian River by Ciprianbogacs @ Pixabay

I'm a hidden stream

tucked away under the trees,

just babbling gently.

A secret chartreuse jewel

with warm memories of familial love.

Carlisle Cathedral by WolfBlur @ Pixabay

I'm a cathedral,

a monument forged from love.

An intricate prayer

of hope, faith, joy and glory.

A kaleidoscope of exaltation.

Brothers Water, Cumbria by Emphyrio @ Pixabay

I am a vast lake,

my cobalt surface tranquil

and still, so that the

solitude of nature is

reflected with mirror-like perfection.

Cumbrian Sheep on the Moors by Johnrp @ Pixabay

I'm the sprawling moors,

sepia heights with daring drops.

Where penny-brown sheep

With small white woolly faces

live free amongst rich heather and gold gorse.

Barrow in Furness Town Hall, thanks to The North West Evening Mail

I am history.

Stunning architecture built

with broad red sandstone.

like sun-kissed rust and garnets,

glinting stained-glass lovingly crafted.

Lake District Cave by Ebor @ Pixabay

I'm a cavern of

unfathomable systems

tunnelled through the slate,

interrupted by pools of

water, ethereal silver and pewter.

Whinlatter Mountain Forest by Steve Blake

I am the mountains,

a lonely, pink dawn over

gargantuan cliffs that

crown dense emerald forests,

home to fae, witches, and magical beasts.

Painting by Cumbrian-born artist, Alison Jolly.

I am a palette

filled with ever-changing paints.

Constantly mixing,

blending every shade and hue

to paint the canvas of a life well-lived.

The Inspiration

St Michael’s Church, Barrow in Furness by Me

When I first started writing this poem the only thing I knew for certain was that it would be my entry for the 'Color is Pride: True Colors' competition.

As an Asexual, it would have been easy for me to talk about LGBTQA+ Pride but I needed a passionate pride, something deeply personal and filled with the fond memories that make up the essence of my unique personality. As an artist, I live for colours and couldn't possibly limit my multi-faceted character to a handful of hues. Instead, I chose to add limitation challenges through poetic style and metrics.

This is something I've never attempted before, which is why I'm eager to talk about it. Though the rules were not strict, I wanted to try a modified version of a Tanka style. The Tanka is a type of Japanese Quintain poetry consisting of a 31 syllables over 5 lines arranged like a Haiku. I added more syllables in the fifth line, so that my total syllables were arranged as 5-7-5-7-10. This gave me a pattern totalling 34 syllables to adhere to.

I began crafting my stanzas to paint a picture of my personality using the colours of nature. I was halfway through when I realised a lot of my happiest memories were formed in the beautiful countryside where I live and that the vivid scenes I was painting resonated with Cumbrian life in general as well as many other places in rural England.

I looked at photos to inspire my 15 stanzas and it was then that my poem found true depth. I am a canvas, coloured with the paint of my glorious environment and like many others, I am proud and extremely grateful to live in Cumbria.

The title is a play of the famous letters from 'Housewife, 49', most recently portrayed in 2006 by the late, great Victoria Wood. The BBC television drama is based on real WW2 diary entries from Nellie Last, a housewife from Barrow-in-Furness, Cumbria. Though I'm unmarried, I'm a SAHM who was born and bred in the small, industrial town, so it made sense to base my title on this. I feel this also speaks volumes about certain aspects of my personality.

When the aforementioned film was released, it had a dark, gritty filter over all of the town scenery to make it seem more dull and imposing. This of course was part of the story's aesthetic, but my town and the surrounding areas are often portrayed as depressingly dingy and claustrophobically industrial. I wanted to share the beauty that moulded me with the rest of the world and weave it full of intimate memories that can be appreciated by all proud Cumbrians.

Now completed, I look at my poem and it’s no longer about the competition - it’s about the several layers of pride forged together to create an ode to the spirit of Cumbria.

Pride in myself, my depth of character, collection of knowledge and wealth of experiences I’ve encountered in my 34 years of living.

Pride in the dedication and discipline needed to spend several hours counting syllables and finding the perfect words to craft to immortalise precious childhood memories. Each line holds so much meaning hidden beneath the surface and each word carefully selected and placed to tell a story and express a piece of my soul.

I’m proud of my heritage and the rich, natural beauty of my home but most of all I am proud that I could craft a multi-dimensional homage to share the vibrant colours of my life with the world.

nature poetry
1

About the Creator

SJ Silver

🌕🔮Marchioness du Strange🔮🌕

Connoisseur of all things dark and whimsical.

Your faithful guide to the weirder side.

I dabble in tits, art, and everything dark!

If you enjoy my writing please show my posts some love!

❤️🧡💛💚💙💜🖤🤍🤎

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.